LUX is a research group of the University of Hamburg and located at CFEL, the Center for Free-Electron Laser Science. The LUX group is part of LAOLA, a collaboration between the University of Hamburg and DESY in the field of plasma-driven accelerators.



Our group is part of the University of Hamburg's division for Accelerator Physics, led by Florian Grüner, and formely led by Jörg Rossbach. We greatfully acknowledge the invaluable support through the University workshops.

At ELI Beamlines, Prague, we work with the group of Georg Korn on the development of a laser-plasma driven undulator beamline.

We closely collaborate with Klaus Flöttmann (DESY-MPY) and with the groups of Bernhard Schmidt (DESY-FLA) and Jens Osterhoff (DESY-FLA PWA) on many aspects related to plasma acceleration. We would like to acknowledge the collaboration with the group of Ingmar Hartl (DESY-FS LA) on laser controls. Especially we would like to acknowledge the great support through technical groups MVS, MKK, BAU, MCS, MEA, ZM, MPS, as well as D3 and D5.


At CFEL we work with the group of Franz Kärtner.


We collaborate with the group of Jean-Luc Vay at LBNL on the development of particle-in-cell codes.


We collaborate with the group of Johannes Bahrdt at HZB on the development of new undulators for our laser-plasma beamline.


We work with Brian McNeil on novel FEL schemes, and are grateful to use Puffin, the new un-averaged 3D FEL code developed by his group.





We gratefully acknowledge the computing time granted by the John von Neumann Institute for Computing (NIC) and provided on the supercomputer JURECA at Jülich Supercomputing Centre (JSC), through project HHH20.